Interactive Brief IK Price Research

For this term, I have two briefs. One is a creative collaboration, and the other one is an interactive brief where we have to come up with an interactive idea for Tate Britain.

In our first lesson, we were asked to go to Tate Britain to see their interactive design. I missed the first part of the lesson, so I then visited Tate Modern. Here are some photos I took that seemed interesting.

img_0048

img_0055

img_0056

I found this big sculpture made out of different type of radios. It had its own space, as you enter the space, you hear radios playing. You’ll hear radios from years before, and commentary playing at the same time. It was a really exciting interactive piece.

While I visted Tate Modern, I saw the new Turbine Hall commission, its duration is 1000 hours with 100 speakers and 1 bioreactor. When I first arrived, it was quiet, there was a machine talking in the background, it was like I was being watched and trapped. I like the interaction of the sound with the audience, it was very engaging. I felt like I was out of Earth, like I was in a Doctor’s Who movie. Then a couple minutes later, different tone of sound was playing, it was like a musical it had a suspension feeling. A bit sinister to be honest, the whole space was dark, with lights lighting at different times and space.


 Tate Britain

Here is some secondary research on Tate Britain.

After dark – the interactive robot.

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/special-event/after-dark

This idea was a chance for audience all around the world to be able to explore the museum in the evening. The robots were created in collaboration with RAL Space, the robot was controlled by certain lucky people, which was chosen at random. They were able to navigate their own journey around the building and see collections without bumping into them as they could sense obstacles around them with the use of ultrasound technology. The robot was built specifically for this task, they had cameras in the robot and bespoke lights for eyes, with the ability to be able to look around, down and up to view all the different range of art on display on that night.

The Interactive timeline

The interactive timeline gives the public the chance to explore the story of art from 1900 to the present day.  In this time-line there are 3500 images of art by 750 artists. To interact, all you have to do is simply touch the words you are interested in on the digital screen. The digitial screen is 6.5 metre, made up of a series of touch-sensitive micro-tiles, across which a cascade of words and images appear. By doing this you get to read more about the modern art movements also your able to see connections between artist as time moves on. This idea was designed by the studio : Framestone (Oscar-winning visual effects studio)

Here are also some images I gathered.

Here are some photos that I took,I really enjoyed the visit because I like drawings, painting, oil coloured paintings. It was a very calming environment, let’s say it was a bit old, not much interaction. There was one work that I found interesting and relatable to me was a spaced call art and alcohol. It was a critical painting illustrating the effect of drink on society in one huge cancas, you see pictures that are blurry in a wall-mounted montage of photographs.

 

But one thing that caught my eye was by an artist Anwar Shemza. He moved to London in 1956, he left Lahore, Pakistan with an established career as a writer and painter. I like his abstraction emerging with modernaism. Throughout his career, Shemza used a wide range of mediums to explore the relationships between form and texture. I really enjoyed his work therefore I am going to use his pieces as my starting point to start my interaction ideas.


Alongside going to Tate Britain and Modern, I also visited a really cool sound exhibition called the Infinitive Mix.

The Infinitive Mix  was a really cool experience. It contains Contemporary Sound and Image bringing together audiovisual artworks that are soulful and audacious.  I went to 12 different rooms, it explored a wide range of subjects, they all interplay between moving image and sound. Most of the artist in the rooms have soundtracks that relate to the visuals, in a very weird way. Making whatever we hear is as important as what we see. The first room I went to was a jazz-funk band, they played really cool music, very engaging, felt like an endless real-time jam.

My favourite room was the fourth one. Kahlil Joseph- m.A.a.d. It’s an alternately intimate and epic, Kahlil Joseph’s dual-screen film installation, that brings together a range of different materials to create a prismatic portrait of the environment, people and streets of Compton. Compton is a working class and largely African-American neighbourhood in LA. The soundtrack was by Kendrick Lamar, they did a response to his album good kid, what else I really enjoyed was how Joseph remixed other of Lamar’s recording, he distorted them, and cut them to fit into his picture editing.

Here is a link to the recordings I made on the day.

 


 

Arduino

In our Second lesson, we had to chance to play with Arduino. At first, when I was given a kit, I was so surprised and scared because everything looked complicated as I have never done any coding before. There was two different boards, so many wires etc. But then as the lesson went on, I became more engaged, and I understood more as my tutor was explaining. There are two boards, one is called the board and the other is a breadboard.

I then download Arduino onto my laptop and we went on tutorials. I learned how to lit up a LED light, how to create a fade, how to play a melody with a Piezo and how to switch a LED light on and off with a button. This was a really fun task, I really enjoyed it.

 


IDEAS!

Before comming up with any ideas, I had to look for some inspiration to get my mind thinking. So I went onto youtube and searched for some interactive videos.

For this video, I love the interaction ideas, it is fun and looks really realistic.

Leave a Reply

